3D Design FINAL

This year, my freshman year, I decided to take the class 3D art. At first, I took this class so I could participate in photograhphy my sophomore year. As we got into the year, and started making such things as paper models, clay, and finally metal and such things, I enjoyed this class, and looked forward to coming and finishing my projects. In this class, one thing I learned was to be you and to express who you are and your personality in everything you do. You will enjoy and love your projects even more if you put some of who you are in it, because at the end of the day, the artwork is YOURS and it should incooperate some of your personality. In this class we made paper homes and shadow boxes, wood consumer projects, wood shapes, clay pinch pots and whistles, and pieces of art sculpted out of metal.

My work as a whole met the requirements, since I made sure to look at each direction, if my teacher posted them on the Canvas module. Specifically in my paper projects, I used the elements of art including texture, shape, and form. I used these three elements, by making sure each of my shapes and cuts, fit in the sections of the paper project in which I needed them to. I used texture when adding creativity to my project, and making certain areas in the paper sculpture capture the eye of the person viewing my artwork. In my wood project, I used shape, since the cutting of the wood had to be very exact, to be able to fit into the spaces provided. For our clay project I had to use texture and form. I had to use texture when doing scrafitto to add design in the clay to make the clay work look like my intentions. For the metal project, it was very important to use shape and line for all the different cuts and how to make the metal cooperate with your metaphor.

In my artwork, even though it was an assignment, in order to make your artwork the best it can be, you have to add a bit of your interests, personality, and YOU! In my paper artwork, I designed my house, which I have been living in my whole life. For such things as my clay tile, I used to encooperate the tree of life. This is important and significant to me, because my family go to Disney almost every year, and it’s a family tradition. I also decided to use the tree of life, since when I was little, my whole family went to Disney world, and the tree of life is one of our many favortites! When creating my artwork, I decided to use specific colors that I love, and colors to match what I was planning on creating. When also creating my consumer wood project, the initials represent my little cousin, and I decided to use her for the my project and create something that matched her room. During my art class throughout the whole year, I used my interests and family in my projects, and that made me love them even more!

This year, overall, was a success. I learned many things I had not known including how to sculpt plaster the correct way. I learned what tools to use when you are creating art with different materials. In a project perspective, projects including my c,ay projects, were better than the rest. I thought these turned out a lot better than my other projects, since they were fun and creative, and you got to put more of who you are as a person in these artworks. Throughout the year, some strengths of mine included designing the project to make it the best it can be and having the idea of what I wanted to create. Some weaknesses, could include finding what it is I wanted to make, as I am picky. In my future art classes, I plan to participate in photography and further photography classes!!

Leave a Reply

